Committee Membership Information

Study Title:

Trends in Science and Technology Relevant to the Biological Weapons Convention: An International Workshop

Primary Board:

Study Director:

Dr. Roderick J. Flower - (Chair)
Queen Mary University of London

Dr. Ralf Trapp
CBW Arms Control and Disarmament

Ralf Trapp is an independent consultant who has worked and published extensively in the fields of chemical and biological weapons disarmament and non-proliferation. His research includes the impact of advances in science and technology on the regimes pertaining to chemical and biological weapons, national implementation measures for the Chemical Weapons Convention and the Biological Weapons Convention (such as legislation, regulations, training, enforcement, self-regulation in industry and academia, oversight, and education), and other aspects of preparedness and consequence management. He formerly served as Secretary of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (1998-2006), which administers the Chemical Weapons Convention. He also served as Legal Coordinator (consultant) for the EU Joint Action in Support of the Biological and Toxin Weapons Convention (2007-2008), which was executed by the Bio-Weapons Prevention Project, Geneva, Switzerland. Dr Trapp is an external member of the Academy of Sciences of Bologna and a Fellow of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC). He received his Dr rer. nat. (Ph.D.) from the Technical University ?Carl Schorlemmer? Leuna-Merseburg (former German Democratic Republic) in 1978 and Dr sc. nat. from the GDR Academy of Sciences, Leipzig in 1986.

Dr. Li Huang
Chinese Academy of Sciences

Li Huang received his Ph.D. in the Department of Microbiology at the University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada, in 1988. He was a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Biochemistry of the School of Hygiene and Public Health at the Johns Hopkins University, Maryland, from 1988 to 1993. He became assistant professor in the Department of Biology at Pomona College, California, in 1993 before joining the faculty in the Institute of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, in 1996. He was appointed to full professorship in 1998 and is now Director-General of the Institute of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences. Dr. Huang?s scientific work concerns the isolation and biotechnological exploitation of microorganisms and their genes from various environments. He has also been working on biosecurity-related issues since 2001, and is currently member of the Biosecurity Working Group of the InterAcademy Panel (IAP).

Dr. Mohamed I. Parker
University of Cape Town

M. Iqbal Parker received his BSc in Biochemistry and Microbiology from University of Cape Town in 1974, his BSc (Honours) in 1975 and his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the same University in 1979. Dr. Parker, currently Director of the Cape Town Component of the International Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), Professor in Medical Biochemistry at the University of Cape Town and Director of Medical Research Council Oesophageal Cancer Research Group based at the University of Cape Town. Before taking up the post with the ICGEB, he was Director of the School of Biomedical Sciences and Head Division of Medical Biochemistry at the University of Cape Town and subsequently, the Deputy Dean for Research in the Health Science Faculty. Dr. Parker is Past-President of the South African Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and was a key member in founding of the Federation African Societies on Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and is currently its Treasurer. He has been elected onto the Executive Committee on Symposia and also the Chair of the Wood-Whelan Fellowship Committee. He is a founder member of the South African Academy of Sciences (ASSAF) and currently holds the position of Secretary General for five years and currently chairs the Biosafety Committee of this Academy.

Dr. Lyoyd Whitman
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Lloyd Whitman joined the Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology as the Deputy Director in April 2008. He received a B.S. in Physics from Brown University (with honors, magna cum laude), and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Physics from Cornell University. After an NRC Postdoctoral Research Fellowship at NIST, he joined the research staff at the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL). At NRL, Dr. Whitman was most recently the Head of the Surface Nanoscience and Sensor Technology Section, a multidisciplinary research group working at the nexus of nanoscience, biotechnology, and microsystems. He led a diverse portfolio of research studying semiconductor, organic, and biomolecular nanostructures, their use in novel functional surfaces, and their integration into advanced sensor systems for national security applications. In addition to leading research at NRL, Dr. Whitman served as a Science Advisor to the Special Assistant to the Secretary of Defense for Chemical and Biological Defense and Chemical Demilitarization Programs. In this capacity, he represented the Department of Defense on the National Science and Technology Council, Committee on Technology Subcommittee on Nanoscale Science, Engineering and Technology. Dr. Whitman has over 140 publications and patent applications in the areas of nanoscience and sensor technology, and numerous media citations and awards, including the Navy Meritorious Civilian Service Award.

Dr. Maxwell O. Onapa
Uganda National Council for Science and Technology

Dr. Nancy D. Connell
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey

Nancy Connell is a Professor of Infectious Disease at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ)-New Jersey Medical School and Director of the UMDNJ Center for BioDefense and the Biosafety Level 3 Facility of UMDNJ?s Center for the Study of Emerging and Re-emerging Pathogens. She chairs the university?s Institutional Biosafety Committee and she has worked with several international programs on dual use issues. She is past chair of the National Institutes of Health?s Center for Scientific Review Study Section HIBP (Host Interactions with Bacterial Pathogens, which reviews bacterial-pathogenesis submissions to the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. She is current chair of the F13 infectious diseases and microbiology fellowship panel. Dr. Connell?s involvement in biological weapons control began in 1984, when she was chair of the Committee on the Military Use of Biological Research, a subcommittee of the Council for Responsible Genetics, based in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Dr. Connell received her Ph.D. in microbial genetics from Harvard University. Her major research focus is in bacterial antibiotic drug discovery.

Dr. Andrzej Gorski
Polish Academy of Sciences

Dr. Hernan Chaimovich
University of Sao Paulo

Dr. Andrew Pitt
University of Glasgow