Committee Membership Information

Study Title:

Best Practices for Risk-Informed Remedy Selection, Closure, and Post-Closure Control of Contaminated Sites: A Workshop Series

Study Director:

Paul Gilman - (Chair)

Paul Gilman is senior vice president and chief sustainability officer of Covanta Energy. Previously, he served as director of the Oak Ridge Center for Advanced Studies and as assistant administrator for the Office of Research and Development in the US Environmental Protection Agency. He also worked in the Office of Management and Budget, where he had oversight responsibilities for the US Department of Energy (DOE) and all other science agencies. In DOE, he advised the secretary of energy on scientific and technical matters. From 1993 to 1998, Dr. Gilman was the executive director of the Commission on Life Sciences and the Board on Agriculture and Natural Resources of the National Research Council. He has also served on numerous National Research Council Committees, including the Roundtable on Science and Technology for Sustainability and the Committee on Incorporating Sustainability in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Dr. Gilman received his PhD in ecology and evolutionary biology from Johns Hopkins University.

Jeffrey Wong - (Member)

Dr. Jeffery Wong is chief scientist for the California Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) at the California Environmental Protection Agency in Sacramento, California. For more than 20 years, he has managed DTSC?s efforts in environmental measurements, biological and exposure monitoring, toxicology and risk assessment, and pollution prevention approaches and technologies; he is currently leading efforts focused on nanotechnologies, other emerging contaminants, and green chemistry. Prior to his work in the DTSC, Dr. Wong was involved in forensic investigations for the Department of Justice and pesticide toxicity evaluation for the Department of Food and Agriculture. Dr. Wong has served on several committees for the National Academies, including the Committee on Uranium Mining in Virginia and Committee on Environmental Remediation at Naval Facilities. He has also served on panels for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and U.S. Department of Energy. He was appointed by President Clinton to serve on the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board. Dr. Wong earned his Ph.D. at the University of California, Davis.

Michael Kavanaugh - (Member)

Dr. Michael Kavanaugh (NAE) is a Principal of Geosyntec Consultants, Inc., an engineering and consulting firm with offices throughout the United States and abroad. His research interests have included hazardous waste management, soil and groundwater remediation, process engineering, industrial waste treatment, technology evaluations, strategic environmental management, compliance and due diligence auditing, water quality, water and wastewater treatment, and water reuse. He has served as chair to the National Research Council?s (NRC) Board on Radioactive Waste Management and the Water Science and Technology Board. He also served on the Committee on Incorporating Sustainability in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Dr. Kavanaugh is a registered chemical engineer in California and Utah, a Diplomat (DEE) of the American Academy of Environmental Engineers, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He received his B.S. in chemical engineering from Stanford University and his M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley.

Patricia Culligan - (Member)

Patricia J. Culligan is professor of civil engineering and engineering mechanics at Columbia University and the Vice Dean of Academic Affairs for Columbia Engineering. Her research focuses on applying geoengineering principles to understand and control the migration of contaminants from waste disposal sites. She studies the behavior of miscible contaminants and nonaqueous phase liquids and colloids in soil and fractured rock and the effectiveness of in situ remediation strategies for the cleanup of waste sites. She also has interest and experience in the design of land-based disposal sites for waste materials. Dr. Culligan has received numerous awards, including MIT's Arthur C. Smith Award for Undergraduate Service (1999), the National Science Foundation Career Award (1999) and Columbia University?s Presidential Award for Outstanding Teaching (2007). She is also the author or coauthor of more than 80 journal articles, book chapters, and refereed conference papers. Dr. Culligan has a Ph.D. degree in civil engineering from Cambridge University, England. She has served on several National Research Council committees and is currently a member of the Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board.