BCST Staff

Jeremy Mathis, Ph.D., Board Director

Jeremy Mathis joined the Academies as the director of the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology in January 2019. Previously, he served as NOAA congressional fellow in Senator Murkowski’s DC office, while also holding adjunct associate professor positions at Georgetown University and the University of Washington. Prior to his position on the Hill, Jeremy held leadership positions in NOAA—including serving as director of NOAA’s Arctic Research Program from 2015 to 2017 and as director of the Ocean Environment Research Division of NOAA’s Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory from 2014 to 2015. Before joining NOAA, he directed the University of Alaska Fairbanks’ Ocean Acidification Research Center from 2010 to 2014 and served as an assistant professor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks’ School of Ocean Sciences. Earlier in his career, he worked as a chemical engineer for Citgo Petroleum. Jeremy received his B.S. in chemical engineering from McNeese State University and his Ph.D. in marine chemistry from the University of Miami.


Marilee Shelton-Davenport, Ph.D., Senior Program Officer

Marilee Shelton-Davenport, Ph.D., is a seasoned science policy program director who joined the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology (BCST) in at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine in 2016, after 17 years with the National Academies Board on Life Sciences. Marilee has an extensive portfolio of work at the intersection of chemistry, biology, and health including impactful activities that serve a variety of federal agencies. A natural at building bridges and working across traditional siloes, Marilee’s work includes consensus studies and the development of innovative activities and communication approaches to engage a wide breadth of scientists and stakeholders in impactful dialogs related to emerging technologies, environmental health and toxicology, and chemical and biological defense. Marilee received her Ph.D. in Pharmacology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and her B.S. in Biochemistry from Clemson University.


Ellen Mantus, Ph.D., Scholar

Ellen Mantus is a Scholar and Director of the Chemical Sciences Roundtable on the Board of Chemical Sciences and Technology at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.  She has almost 20 years of experience as a study director at the National Academies. She has worked on a variety of topics, including chemical alternative assessments, a research agenda for separation science, health implications of various chemical exposures, strategies for applying modern scientific approaches in toxicology and risk assessment, guidance to federal agencies on risk-based decision-making, and barriers to deployment of electric vehicles and associated charging infrastructure. Before joining the National Academies, Dr. Mantus was a project manager with ICF Consulting where she served as a primary reviewer for numerous toxicological studies and provided risk assessment and regulatory support on a wide array of projects. Dr. Mantus received a PhD in chemistry from Cornell University in Ithaca, NY.


Maggie L. Walser, Ph.D., Senior Program Officer

Maggie L. Walser is a Senior Program Officer with the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology and has been with the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine since 2010. Prior to this role, she served as the Director of Education & Capacity Building for the Gulf Research Program where she contributed to strategic planning for the program and oversaw education and training activities and fellowship programs that support early-career scientists. From 2010 to 2014, Dr. Walser served as a Program Officer with the Board on Atmospheric Sciences and Climate and worked on topics such as climate science, weather research and policy, climate change and water security, and Arctic research priorities. Before joining the staff of the National Academies, she was the AGU/AAAS Congressional Science Fellow and worked on water and energy policy and legislation with the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources. Prior to her time on the Hill, Dr. Walser was a Postdoctoral Fellow with the National Council for Science and the Environment. She completed her Ph.D. in Chemistry with the Aerosol Photochemistry Group at the University of California, Irvine in 2007. Her research focused on the composition and photochemistry of secondary organic aerosol, as well as biogenic emissions of atmospherically relevant trace gases. She also holds B.S. degrees in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering from the University of California, Irvine.


Nicholas Rogers, Finance Business Partner

Nicholas D. Rogers is a finance business partner with the Board on Earth Sciences and Resources (BESR) and Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology (BCST) of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. He received a B.A. in history (honors), with a focus on the history of science and early American history, from Western Connecticut State University in 2004. He began working for the National Academies in 2006 with BESR and joined the BCST staff in 2018. Nick has received three internal staff awards in recognition of service to the Academies and DELS, one individual award in 2007 for outstanding service, as a member of the financial associate team for service in 2013, and a team award from DELS in 2017. Outside the National Academies, Nick is a volunteer with The First Tee of Greater Washington D.C.


Jessica Wolfman, Research Assistant

Jessica Wolfman is a Research Assistant for the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology. She joined the Academies in August of 2017 as a Senior Program Assistant for both BCST and the Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology. Jessica graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Dickinson College in May of 2017 with a Bachelor of Science in Earth Sciences and a minor in Mathematics.


Madison Pravecek, Research Assistant

Madison Pravecek is a Research Assistant for the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology. She has been with The National Academies since June, 2019. Madison graduated from the School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University in May, 2019 with a degree in Science, Technology, and International Affairs, focusing on energy and the environment. Outside of the Academies, Madison volunteers for the Smithsonian National Zoo.


Elise Zaidi, Communications and Media Associate

Elise Zaidi is a Communications and Media Associate for the Division on Earth and Life Studies (DELS). Her primary responsibilities include promoting report releases, creating derivative products for Academies projects and publications, and formulating targeted outreach campaigns for committee and study activities. Prior to starting her work with the Academies in July 2019, she held positions with the Council on Foreign Relations and the Pan American Health Organization. Elise graduated from The George Washington University with a Bachelor of Arts in International Affairs, a concentration in Global Public Health, and a minor in Journalism and Mass Communication.


Kesiah Clement, Program Assistant

Kesiah Clement is a program assistant for the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology. She joined the BCST staff in July, 2019. In May 2019, Kesiah graduated from Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service with a B.S. in Science, Technology, and International Affairs focusing on global environmental health.


Sarah Harper, Program Assistant

Sarah Harper is a program assistant on the Board of Chemical Sciences and Technology. She has been with the National Academy of Sciences since July 2019. Sarah is a recent graduate from Georgetown’s School of Foreign Service where she studied energy and the environment in the Science, Technology, and International Affairs major.