Board Members

Members of the Board are chosen through a careful process of search and selection in an endeavor to assemble a committee of the highest competence; they are chosen on the strength of their professional qualifications. Members are volunteers and serve as individuals, not as representatives of any institution. Appointments are made by the Chairman of the National Research Council. The term of appointment is typically 3 years.

Corale Brierley, NAE (Chair), 2015
Brierley Consultancy, LLC

Susan L. Cutter, 2015
Carolina Distinguished Professor of Geography
University of South Carolina

Deborah Goodings, 2017
Dewberry Professor and Chairman
Department of Civil, Environmental and Infrastructure Engineering
George Mason University

William L. Graf, 2014
Foundation University Professor and
Professor and Chair,
Department of Geography
University of South Carolina

Ann S. Maest, 2015
Buka Environmental

Robert B. McMaster. 2014
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
Professor of Geography
The Department of Geography
University of Minnesota

M. Meghan Miller, 2016

Isabel P. Montañez, 2016
University of California, Davis
Geology Department

Clayton R. Nichols, 2014
Department of Energy, Idaho Operations Office (Retired) 

Henry N. Pollack, 2016
Professor of Geophysics (Emeritus)
Department of Geophysics
University of Michigan 

James M. Robertson, 2016
Director and State Geologist
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey

Peter M. Shearer, NAS, 2015
Professor of GeophysicsInstitute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics
University of California, San Diego  

Gene Whitney, 2015
Congressional Research Service (retired)


List of Former Members

Susan L. Cutter 

Carolina Distinguished Professor of Geography

University of South Carolina