Board Members



Members of the Board are chosen through a careful process of search and selection in an endeavor to assemble a committee of the highest competence; they are chosen on the strength of their professional qualifications. Members are volunteers and serve as individuals, not as representatives of any institution. Appointments are made by the Chairman of the National Research Council. The term of appointment is typically 3 years.

Corale Brierley, NAE (Chair), 2015
Brierley Consultancy, LLC

Christopher (Scott) Cameron, 2017
Consulting Petroleum Geologist
Deepwater Technology Services and Alpha Deepwater Services

Susan L. Cutter, 2015
Carolina Distinguished Professor of Geography
University of South Carolina

Carol P. Harden, 2017
Professor emerita
Department of Geography
The University of Tennessee

T. Mark Harrison, NAS, 2017
Distinguished Professor
University of California, Los Angeles

Ann S. Maest, 2015
Buka Environmental

David R. Maidment, 2016
Professor of Civil Engineering and Director
The University of Texas
Center for Research in Water Resources

M. Meghan Miller, 2016

Isabel P. Montañez, 2016
University of California, Davis
Geology Department

Henry N. Pollack, 2016
Professor of Geophysics (Emeritus)
Department of Geophysics
University of Michigan 

Mary M. Poulton, 2017
Professor and Head
Department of Mining and Geological Engineering
University of Arizona

James M. Robertson, 2016
Director and State Geologist
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey

Peter M. Shearer, NAS, 2015
Professor of GeophysicsInstitute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics
University of California, San Diego  

Shaowen Wang, 2017
Professor and Centennial Scholar
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Gene Whitney, 2015
Congressional Research Service (retired)

List of Former Members




Susan L. Cutter 



Carolina Distinguished Professor of Geography



University of South Carolina