BEST Board Members

Board Member Biographies (PDF)


William H. Farland, Chair
Senior Advisor to the Executive Vice President, and Professor, Environmental and Radiological Health Sciences
College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
Colorado State University


Lesa Aylward
Summit Toxicology, LLP

Richard A. Becker

Senior Toxicologist
American Chemistry Council

E. William Colglazier

Visiting Scientist
Center for Diplomacy
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Dominic M. Di Toro
Edward C. Davis Professor of Civil and
Environmental Engineering
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Delaware

David C. Dorman
Professor of Toxicology
College of Veterinary Medicine
North Carolina State University

Anne Fairbrother

Exponent, Inc.   


George Gray
The George Washington University, Washington, DC


Steven P. Hamburg
Chief Scientist
Environmental Defense Fund

Robert A. Hiatt
Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics,
Director, Population Sciences and Deputy Director, Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of California, San Francisco


R. Jeffrey Lewis
Distinguished Scientific Associate
ExxonMobil Biomedical Sciences, Inc.

H. Scott Matthews
Research Director, Green Design Institute;
Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering; and
Professor, Department of Engineering and Public Policy
Carnegie Mellon University

Robert Perciasepe
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions


R. Craig Postlewaite
Department of Defense, Burke, VA


Reza J. Rasoulpour
Science and Technology Leader
Dow AgroSciences

Mark A. Ratner

Co-Director, Initiative for Sustainability and Energy (ISEN),
and Lawrence B. Dumas Distinguished University Professor
Department of Chemistry
Northwestern University

Joan B. Rose
Homer Nowlin Chair in Water Research
Fisheries and Wildlife Department
Michigan State University

Gina Solomon
Principal Investigator
Public Health Institute

Robert Sussman
Sussman and Associates

Deborah L. Swackhamer
Prof. and Charles M. Denny, Jr., Chair of Science,Technology and Public Policy; Professor
Environmental Health Sciences
Water Resources Center
University of Minnesota

Peter Thorne
Professor and Head
Department of Occupational and Environmental Health
The University of Iowa