Board Members

James P. Collins (Chair)

Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Natural History and the Environment

School of Life Sciences

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Arizona State University

Tempe, AZ


A. Alonso Aguirre

Chair and Professor

Department of Environmental Science and Policy

George Mason University


Enriqueta C. Bond

President Emeritus

Burroughs Wellcome Fund

Marshall, VA


Roger D. Cone

Director, Life Sciences Institute

Professor of Molecular and Integrative


University of Michigan


Nancy D. Connell

Professor, Division of Infectious Disease

Department of Medicine

Rutgers New Jersey Medical School and

Rutgers Biomedical Health Sciences

Newark, NJ


Joseph R. Ecker

Salk International Council Chair in Genetics

Salk Institute for Biological Studies

and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

La Jolla, CA


Scott V. Edwards

Alexander Agassiz Professor of Zoology and Curator of Ornithology

Museum of Comparative Zoology

Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology

Harvard University


Robert J. Full

Chancellor’s and Goldman Professor

Department of Integrative Biology

University of California, Berkeley


Elizabeth Heitman


Program in Ethics in Science and Medicine

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center


Mary E. Maxon

Associate Laboratory Director for Biosciences

Lawrence Berkeley National Lab (LBNL)

Berkeley, CA


Jill P. Mesirov

Associate Vice Chancellor for Computational Health Sciences

Professor, Department of Medicine

University of California

San Diego School of Medicine and Moores Cancer Center

La Jolla, CA


Claire Pomeroy


The Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation

New York, NY


Mary E. Power

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

University of California, Berkeley

Berkeley, CA


Lana Skirboll

Vice President of Academic and Scientific Affairs


Washington, DC