International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)


The PRB serves as the U.S. National Committee to the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC). IASC is a non-governmental, international scientific organization. The Founding Articles committed IASC to pursue a mission of encouraging and facilitating cooperation in all aspects of Arctic research, in all countries engaged in Arctic research and in all areas of the Arctic region. Overall, IASC promotes and supports leading-edge multi-disciplinary research in order to foster a greater scientific understanding of the Arctic region and its role in the Earth system.


IASC was founded in 1990 by representatives of national scientific organizations of the eight Arctic countries - Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States of America. Over the years, IASC has evolved into the leading international science organization of the North and its membership today includes 23 countries involved in all aspects of Arctic research, including 15 non-Arctic countries (Austria, China, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland and the UK).


IASC is governed by a Council, composed of one representative of each of its member countries, which meets annually at the Arctic Science Summit Week. Dr. Larry Hinzman, University of Alaska Fairbanks, is the U.S. representative to the Council. The Polar Research Board is responsible for the selection of the U.S. Delegate, Alternate Delegate, and two members to each of the Working Groups. Working Groups provide the main forums for developing IASC scientific programs and activities.


Other resources:

In the context of its 25th anniversary in 2015, IASC published a comprehensive history spanning the first planning meetings in the late 1980s until today:

Rogne, O., Rachold, V., Hacquebord, L., Corell, R. (2015) IASC after 25 year - A Quarter of a Century of International Arctic Research Cooperation. International Arctic Science Committee. 125 pp.


The "IASC Bulletin" provides an overview of the diverse activities conducted and sponsored by IASC. In addition to providing an annual report of new and continuing initiatives, the Bulletin also introduces future activities. Current and past issues of the Bulletin can be found here:

For general IASC information, contact the IASC Secretariat at

U.S. Representatives to IASC

Delegate and Alternate Delegate

Dr. Larry Hinzman, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Dr. Matthew Druckenmiller, National Snow and Ice Data Center, Rutgers University


Terrestrial Working Group

Dr. Michelle Mack, Northern Arizona University

Dr. Vladimir Romanovsky, University of Alaska Fairbanks


Cryosphere Working Group

Dr. Robert Hawley, Dartmouth College

Dr. Cathy Wilson, Los Alamos National Laboratory


Marine Working Group

Dr. Karen Frey, Clark University

Dr. Lee Cooper, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science


Atmosphere Working Group

Dr. Gijs de Boer, University of Colorado, Boulder

Dr. Muyin Wang, University of Washington


Social and Human Working Group

Dr. Lawrence Hamilton, University of New Hampshire

Dr. Andrey Petrov, University of Northern Iowa


Polar Research Board Staff

Lauren Everett, Program Officer