Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

SCAR logoThe PRB serves as the U.S. National Committee to the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR). SCAR is a nongovernmental organization created in 1958 and charged to initiate, promote, and coordinate international scientific activity in the Antarctic with a view to framing a scientific program of circumpolar scope and significance; to review scientific matters pertaining to the integrity of the Antarctic environment, including the conservation of its terrestrial and marine ecosystems; and to provide scientific and technological advice to the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meetings and other organizations, both governmental and nongovernmental. The Antarctic Treaty governs science activities of member nations in Antarctica, including the United States. The role of SCAR, as codified in the Environmental Protocol of the Antarctic Treaty, is to provide consultation on matters ranging from the development of environmental monitoring guidelines to the review of areas proposed for special management. SCAR representatives attend and participate in the ATCM, held once a year. Although SCAR membership parallels that of the signatories to the Antarctic Treaty, SCAR's deliberations are informal and its recommendations are advisory. SCAR usually addresses issues before they are considered at Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meetings and thus it serves as a valuable way to help U.S. government representatives prepare for negotiations at Treaty Meetings.


The PRB is responsible for communication of SCAR activities in the United States, including distribution of SCAR reports, publications, and announcements; meeting preparation; and facilitating contacts between U.S. scientists, national representatives, and SCAR programs. The PRB is responsible for nomination and selection of delegates, alternate delegates, and scientific committee representatives, and for ensuring that these U.S. participants represent national interests and convey information and decisions from SCAR activities to the U.S. polar community and federal agencies. As the U.S. National Committee, the PRB distributes draft documents for U.S. review, such as draft management plans for Specially Protected Areas, as well as reports from SCAR's various standing scientific committees.


The PRB, working with the National Science Foundation, is responsible for preparation of the Annual Report to SCAR. Through the U.S. Delegate and Alternate Delegate, the PRB ensures active U.S. representation in meetings, in the development of reports, and in any recommendations and resolutions conveyed to the ATCM. At present, Dr. Terry Wilson of Ohio State University is the US delegate to SCAR. The alternate US delegate is Deneb Karentz of the University of San Francisco. The SCAR Secretariat is located in Cambridge, England, at the Scott Polar Research Institute.


SCAR functions via an executive committee that meets each year, a meeting of delegates held biennially, and periodic meetings of standing and special committees. For information about these meetings, see the SCAR Events Page.


For more information, visit the SCAR website, or contact the SCAR Secretariat at


For information on US SCAR activities, see the US SCAR Website.

May 24, 2018

A key mechanism of SCAR's work is the suite of "Scientific Research Programs" established for fixed periods of time to catalyze and organize international collaborations around research topics deemed of critical importance by the scientific community.  The current suite of SRPs are nearing the end of their designated lifetimes and a next generation of Programs is now being explored. In this webinar, three U.S. representatives to SCAR (Terry Wilson, Deneb Karentz, David Bromwich) discuss this program development opportunity and the ways that you can best contribute ideas to this process. 


View the video of the webinar

View the presentation slides


You are likewise invited to contribute thoughts and suggestions on this matter in this survey.



Lead Delegate:
Deneb Karentz

Professor, Departments of Biology and Environmental Science, University of San Francisco



Alternate Delegate
Dr. Allan T. Weatherwax
Dean, School of Science and Engineering, Merrimack College


Geosciences Scientific Group


Peter Doran
Professor and Chair, Department of Geology and Geophysics, Louisiana State University  


Samantha Hansen
Associate Professor of Geological Sciences, University of Alabama


Sridhar Anandakrishnan
Professor, Department of Geosciences; Pennsylvania State University



Physical Sciences Scientific Group

John Cassano
Fellow, Cooperative Institute for Research in the Environmental Sciences, University of Colorado Boulder


Erin Petitt
Associate Professor of Glaciology, University of Alaska | Fairbanks



David Bromwich
Senior Research Scientist and Professor
Director, Polar Meteorology Group, The Ohio State University



Life Sciences Scientific Group


George Watters
Antarctic Ecosystem Research Division, NOAA Fisheries | SW Fisheries Science Center


Byron Adams
Associate Professor of Biology, Brigham Young University


Charles Amsler
Professor of Biology, University of Alabama | Birmingham


Dr. Marc Shepanek
NASA Deputy Chief of Medicine of Extreme Environments



Laurie Geller
Polar Research Board,
National Academies